About Our Area


Click here to view our online Community Guide, full of information on our area.

Population: 37,464 (2000 Census)
Located on corner of Washington, Anoka and Chisago Counties
Includes the following cities and townships: (listed with populations)

Columbus 4108 Scandia 4210
Forest Lake 17494 Stacy 1278
Lent Township 1992 Wyoming 7427
Linwood Township 4668

Forest Lake Area Schools (ISD #831) serves much of the same area.

Distance to:
Downtown Minneapolis – 25 miles South via I-35W
Downtown St. Paul – 25 miles South via I-35E
Duluth – 120 miles North via I-35

The North Metro Lakes Area is a freestanding growth center located in the seven county Twin Cities metropolitan area in northwestern Washington County, northeastern Anoka County and southwestern Chisago County. The area is experiencing rapid residential and commercial growth. The City of Forest Lake services surrounding communities with retail and commercial businesses.  The City of Wyoming serves as a health care hub for the area.

City of Forest Lake

City of Forest Lake
Located in the northwestern corner of Washington County, Forest Lake is conveniently located at the junction of Interstates 35E and 35W and is part of the Twin Cities metropolitan area.  In addition to the beauty of our lakes, residents and visitors appreciate our small-town feel and family-friendly amenities.  A variety of unique, local business combined with national retailers to make the city a regional shopping and services hub.  Parks and playgrounds, a swimming beach, hiking and biking trails, snowmobile trails, and nearby attractions round out our community.

City of Scandia Logo Small WebCity of Scandia

Scandia is a rural community located in northern Washington County, at the edge of  the Twin Cities Metropolitan Area.  The City of Scandia, the community has a rich history as the first Swedish immigrants to Minnesota settled here.  The historic village area business community provides many goods and services and is the focal point of community life. Scandia’s 39.7 square miles represent a scenic, rolling landscape dotted with lakes, woodlands, farms and low density rural development.  The St. Croix River and Big Marine Lake are two of the natural gems that attract residents and visitors to our area.

Wyoming MNCity of Wyoming

The City of Wyoming is a rapidly growing community located in Chisago County.  Wyoming continues to experience residential and commercial growth.  Conveniently located next to I35 and Hwy 8 about 30 minutes north of the Twin Cities, Wyoming offers a great feel to live and work.

City of Columbus Web Small
City of Columbus

Columbus is a mix of residential, rural and commercial lands.  Columbus boasts large tracts of public lands including Carlos Avery Wildlife Management Area and Lamprey Pass.

Lent Township LogoTownship of Lent

Lent Township is a small, independent community nestled along the western edge of Chisago County, in east central Minnesota. Lent Township prides itself on maintaining its rural character while planning for quality development, making it a truly desirable place to live, play, work, and raise a family. In 2008, the words “Community Comes Naturally” were chosen as the most appropriate description of Lent Township’s most valued assets – the local resident’s caring attitude and the abundant natural resources that make our community stand out.

Linwood Township

Township of Linwood
Linwood Township is located in the extreme northeast corner of Anoka county.  The Linwood area consists of flat and low land, with much of the acreage across the central and eastern area in the Carlos Avery Wildlife Refuge. Along with this land is a chain of lakes including, Linwood Lake (from which the town received the name), Island, Tamarack, Martin, Typo, Fawn, Pet, Mud, Ryan, Skunk, Boot and Rice Lake.

More Area Information:



Doing Business